photo: ACPDR archives

Bilateral Cooperation

Slovenia has concluded bilateral agreements on cooperation in the area of protection against natural and other disasters with the neighbouring countries, that is, Austria, Croatia, Italy and Hungary, and the Protocol on Cross-Border Cooperation with the Italian Region of Friuli Venezia Giulia. It has also concluded agreements with the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Russian Federation, as well as with Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia. Bilateral agreements are aimed at facilitating provision of mutual assistance in disasters and are also the basis for the planning of preventive measures, promotion of scientific research, training and other activities relevant to protection against disasters.

Slovenia cooperates successfully with certain EU member states in the field of disaster management education and training as well as within European projects, especially with France, Germany and Sweden.

Strong cooperation has been developed with the Western Balkan countries, especially as regards the transfer of knowledge and experience in the development of national disaster management systems, and support to candidate countries and potential candidate countries in the process of joining the EU in the area of civil protection.

Bilateral cooperation also takes place with other countries (i.a. China, Russian Federation and United States of America) in the form of various programmes.

Regional Initiatives

Key regional initiative in the field of protection against natural and other disasters in the South-Eastern Europe is the Disaster Preparedness and Prevention Initiative for South Eastern Europe (DPPI SEE). The Memorandum of Understanding on the Institutional Framework of the DPPI SEE was signed in 2007. With this action SEE countries took over full regional ownership of the Initiative. This has been reaffirmed with signature of the new MOU in 2013/2014.

The overall goal of the Disaster Preparedness and Prevention Initiative for South East Europe (DPPI SEE) is to facilitate regional co-operation by serving as a regional network to enhance disaster prevention natural and man-made disasters and preparedness in the South Eastern Europe.

Members/Parties of the DPPI SEE are: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia and Turkey. The DPPI SEE has been supported by several international partners: the European Commission, United Nations (UNISDR, UN OCHA, UNDP), NATO, Denmark, Italy, Germany, Sweden, USA and others, engaged also in the DPPI SEE Advisory Board. DPPI SEE Secretariat is seated in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

The DPPI SEE budget is composed of annual contributions by DPPI SEE Parties, and support by donors.

The DPPI SEE Chair-in-Office rotates on an annual basis between the DPPI SEE member countries in an alphabetical order and is responsible for the implementation of the DPPI SEE in all its aspects, for overall co-ordination of the DPPI SEE and for its promotion at both regional and international levels. Slovenia took over the chairmanship for the first time in the year 2007 and in 2016.

Main project within DPPI SEE is Disaster Management Training Program (DMTP) which focuses on the institutional capacity building of the disaster management authorities of the SEE countries through exchange of information, lessons learnt and best practices in the field of disaster preparedness and prevention in the SEE. Slovenia on the yearly base contributes to the DMTP program with organization of different trainings and seminars: English Language Course, Hot Fire Training, Disaster Risk Reduction Seminar, Basic Training for Search and Rescue Dog Handlers and Basic Cave Rescue Training, which was so far conducted in eight different countries in the region.

Further information on the initiative is available at: www.dppi.info

The Adriatic and Ionian Initiative> was established in Ancona, Italy, in 2000. The purpose of the initiative is to strengthen cooperation in different fields. Members of the initiative include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Greece, Croatia, Italy, Slovenia and Serbia. Slovenia - the ACPDR> participates in the fire protection working table, which is a forum for the exchange of information and good practices in the field of wildfires.

Further information on the initiative is available at: www.aii-ps.org

The aim of the Alpine Convention is the long-term preservation of the natural Alpine ecosystem and sustainable development in the area, as well as protection of economic interests of the Alpine population. The Parties to the Convention are eight Alpine countries, that is, Austria, France, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Germany, Slovenia and Switzerland, and the European Union.

Slovenia - the ACPDR is engaged in the Interministerial Working Group for the Alpine Convention and the Natural Hazards Platform (PLANALP), the aim of which is to exchange information on activities in the field of protection against natural disasters in the Alps, and to monitor and implement recommendations of the Alpine Convention.

Further information on the initiative is available at: www.alpconv.org

The ACPDR follows also the concept of Alpine, Adriatic-Ionian Sea and Danube macro-regional strategies to identify shared needs or common challenges and solutions to these challenges in European regions.

The ACPDR also participates in other regional initiatives. The extent and intensity of its participation varies depending on the programme of the presiding state.

photo: ACPDR archives and BOBO